A DEAD MAN’S EYES

Lisa Jamison has done well for a single mom who got pregnant at fifteen.

She’s a reporter at a well-respected newspaper and her teenage daughter is both an athlete and honors student. Though their relationship is rocky these days, Lisa has accomplished what she set out to do. She has given her daughter the kind of life she never had.

But all that changes when Lisa sees her daughter in the eyes of a dead man.

The cops call it a drug killing, but Lisa doesn’t believe it. She knows her ex-boyfriend was no drug dealer even though she hadn’t seen him in sixteen years. Lisa ignores warnings from her medical-examiner friend. She fails to heed barely veiled threats from the sheriff of a neighboring county. Instead, she risks her life and the lives of her daughter and their closest friend on a dangerous quest for answers.

The investigation leaves Lisa fighting for her family in a morbid, black market world she never knew existed. She learns that trust is complicated and that she, despite her cynical nature, has been blind. She trusted the wrong people and now she might have to pay with her life.

Praise for A Dead Man’s Eyes

“Only a skilled and experienced reporter could craft such an authentically gripping story. Duffy Foster is the real deal–emotional depth and honest story-telling make this a terrific debut!”

– Hank Phillippi Ryan/ USA Today Bestselling author of THE FIRST TO LIE

“A fine debut, packed with action and intrigue. We see in A DEAD MAN’S EYES what it truly means to be family, and sometimes what it takes to protect the ones we love. Lori Duffy Foster has given crime fiction a wonderful new protagonist: a journalist with the curiosity and heart to get her into trouble, the smarts and bravery to get her out of it, and the humanity for us to care deeply that she succeeds. Duffy Foster skillfully kicks off with a grim puzzle, then hurls us into a deadly game of cat-and-mouse, keeping the tension high, and the stakes higher. We can only hope this will be the first of many adventures with protagonist Lisa Jamison.”

– Mark Pryor, author of the Hugo Martson series

“I was delighted to find that A Dead Man’s Eyes was a book that thoroughly gripped me from beginning to end, and what an action-packed, emotionally charged ending it is. The characters are all so deftly developed, building on their background information that seamlessly segues into who they are today. There is a depth to the characters that is exceptional in a debut novel. Lori Duffy Foster is a welcome addition to the mystery/crime fiction community, and I am looking forward to her next addition to this series.”

– Kathy Reel, reviewer, The Reading Room

“Lori Duffy Foster’s real-life experience as a crime reporter shines through in this gripping debut. She paints a gritty, vivid picture of a family that has had its share of sorrow and is now drawn into an even more horrifying world of crime when one man tries to do the right thing. From the opening scene in an autopsy room to final fight-for-your-life, Foster keeps the reader turning page.

Since this is billed as “A Lisa Jamison Mystery” I am assuming it will be the first in a series, and I predict it will be one that many readers will welcome and enjoy. Lisa is the quintessential tough girl with a soft touch, committed fully to raising her daughter on her own, but also very willing to step in and stand up for what’s right.

Duffy Foster is a skilled writer, delivering witty and sharp dialog, decent character development (I really want to know more about Lisa and her family), and good descriptive prose. Fans of Kathy Reichs, Janet Evanovich, and Lisa Scottoline will enjoy this new mystery series.”

– Patricia Uttaro, reviewer, It’s All About The Book